AAPS Announces 2016 Award Winners

Published on: 

The awards were presented at the AAPS Biotechnology Conference and included awards for ligand binding, innovation in biotechnology, and graduate student symposiums.

On May 16, 2016 Gregory E. Amidon, PhD, president of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS), recognized ground-breaking research in the pharmaceutical sciences at the 2016 AAPS Biotechnology Conference. The conference is focused on four distinct themes including, drug discovery, development, engineering, and regulations. The awards presented at AAPS included awards for excellence in ligand-binding assays, innovation in biotechnology, and biotechnology graduate student symposiums. The 2016 award winners include:

AAPS Excellence in Ligand Binding Assays Award
Stephen Harris, Quotient Bioresearch

AAPS Innovation in Biotechnology Awards
Jan Detmers, PhD, Zellkraftwerk
Shawn Fernando, Morphotek, Inc.
Parul Gupta, PhD, Pfizer, Inc.
Piotr Pierog, PhD, Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research, Inc.
Christopher Shea, Pfizer Inc.

Biotechnology Graduate Student Symposium Awards
Vibhuti Agrahari, University of Missouri Kansas City
Ehab Moussa, Purdue University
John Schardt, University of Maryland, College Park
Kshitij Verma, Texas Tech University, Health Sciences Center


The AAPS Biotechnology Conference took place from May 16-18, 2016 in Boston, Massachusetts. The conference brought together professionals from industry, government, and academia focused on the biotechnology sector of pharmaceutical sciences.

Source: AAPS