ISPE Elects 2016–2017 Board of Directors

Published on: 

ISPE announced the results of its 2016–2017 International Board of Directors election.

The International Society for Pharmaceutical Engineering (ISPE) has announced the results of its 2016–2017 International Board of Directors election, which governs the direction of ISPE. Elected board members are leaders in the pharmaceutical industry.

The new board officers include:

  • Chair: Michael A. Arnold, RPh, Business Process Owner for Investigational Products and Senior Director of Strategic Partnerships, Global Clinical Supply Chain, Pfizer

  • Vice Chair: Timothy P. Howard, CPIP, PE, vice-president of Global Operations, Commissioning Agents, Inc.

  • Treasurer: James Breen Jr, PE, vice-president, Worldwide Engineering and Technical Operations, Johnson & Johnson

  • Secretary: Frances (Fran) M. Zipp, president & CEO, Lachman Consultant Services, Inc.

Joanne R. Barrick, RPh, advisor in global validation support at Eli Lilly and Company has been re-elected to a second two-year term as director of the board. New directors include:

  • Peter S. Carbone, vice-president, Global Head External Relations, Group Quality, Novartis

  • Christine M.V. Moore, PhD, Global Head and Executive director, GRACS CMC – Policy, Merck

  • Fatma Taman, general manager, PharmaVision

  • Jörg Zimmermann, Vice President of Vetter Development Services, Vetter Pharma Fertigung GmbH&Co KG.

The following directors were elected in 2015 and will continue their service:

  • Tony (Antonio) Crincoli, PE, executive director and head of Global Engineering Services, Bristol-Myers Squibb

  • Thomas Hartman, vice-president of GMP Operations, Biopharm CMC, GlaxoSmithKline

  • Robert (Bob) Matje, PE, CPIP, principal, RemTech, LLC

  • Antonio (Tony) R. Moreira, PhD, vice-provost for Academic Affairs at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)

  • Christopher Reid, CEO, Integrity Solutions Limited.

Joseph Famulare, vice-president–Global Quality Compliance and External Collaboration, Genentech/Roche, Pharma Technical Operations, will continue as Immediate Past Chair.

“I am looking forward to collaborating with the incoming International Board of Directors to further the organization and advance the Society mission and vision,” John Bournas, president and CEO, ISPE, said in a press release. “The new leadership team will not only provide invaluable guidance with regards to our strategic direction and efforts to support the biopharmaceutical manufacturing industry, but will continue the organization’s further globalization.”

The new board will assume their elected positions at the 2016 ISPE Annual Meeting & Expo held in Atlanta, GA, on Sept. 18–21, 2016.

Source: ISPE