Analysis of Viral Proteins, Nucleic Acids and Biomolecular Interactions with Light Scattering

Webcasts

Tuesday, August 17, 2021 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST Characterizing viral proteins and their interactions is key to understanding of how a virus infects cells and for the development of protein-based drugs. Learn how light scattering technology can be used for the biophysical characterization of viral proteins, mAbs, and their interactions.

Register Free: https://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/acids

Event Overview:

Characterizing viral proteins and their interactions with receptors and engineered monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) is key to fundamental understanding of how a virus infects cells and ultimately to the successful development of protein-based drugs. Light-scattering based methods provide essential solutions to addressing these questions.

Size-exclusion chromatography coupled to multi-angle light-scattering (SEC-MALS) delivers crucial information regarding sample quality and homogeneity, degree of glycosylation and complex formation. Composition-gradient light scattering (CG-MALS), which does not involve separation, is a label-free method for analyzing binding affinities between molecules in solution and provides detailed information about the nature of homo- and hetero-oligomers.

This webinar will shed light on the theory and technology of light scattering and how it is used for the biophysical characterization of viral proteins, mAbs, and their interactions. Additionally, it will be demonstrated how this method can be applied to other therapeutically relevant non-protein samples like messenger RNA.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Review light scattering theory and instrumentation
  • Understand basic biophysical characterization of proteins and nucleic acids with light scattering
  • Learn how protein conjugate analysis characterizes heterogeneous glycoproteins
  • Hear an analysis of intermolecular interactions via CG-MALS

Who Should Attend:

  • Scientists seeking to expand their knowledge of analytical methods for the characterization of biological macromolecules
  • Biochemists interested in orthogonal methods to surface plasmon resonance, isothermal titration calorimetry, and fluorescence-based analysis of binding affinities
  • Biopharmaceutical researchers interested in enhanced analysis of therapeutic mAbs, nucleic acids, and target proteins, building off standard high performance liquid chromatography/fast protein liquid chromatography.

Speakers

Dr. Felix Gloge
Field Application Scientist
Wyatt Technology

Register Free: https://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/acids