Are You Seeing the Whole Picture? Backgrounded Membrane Imaging (BMI) as a Multi-Use Analytical Tool for Developability Assessment through Late Stage Formulation

Sponsored Content

Are you seeing the whole picture with your current analysis tools? Join us to learn how low volume, high throughput particle analysis with BMI provides more information and faster insights at any stage of biologic development – even at high concentrations. Live: Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST On demand available after airing until May 12, 2021 Register free

Register free: http://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/membrane

Event Overview:
Subvisible particles (SVPs) are a key quality attribute of protein therapeutics and an indicator of drug efficacy and safety. Yet commonly used methods for characterizing SVPs such as light obscuration and flow imaging are limited by high volume consumption, long measurement times, and difficulty handling viscous, high concentration samples. Here we introduce Backgrounded Membrane Imaging (BMI), a fully automated form of USP <788> membrane microscopy available on the Horizon instrument from Halo Labs. BMI utilizes disposable 96-well membrane plates and automated image processing to rapidly generate accurate particle counts and sizing in low volume, high throughput format. With BMI, subvisible aggregate analysis can be incorporated at any stage of biologic development - from candidate selection to formulation screening, process development, and analytical - providing key insights that reduce drug development risk and time to market.

  • The Horizon system with BMI can perform automated particle imaging with detailed characterization in up to 96 samples under two hours using only 25μL per sample 

  • Subvisible particle detection with BMI can reveal stability issues that are missed by other methods such as DLS or SEC

  • BMI is insensitive to solution refractive index, enabling more reliable measurement of translucent protein aggregates than other particle imaging methods

  • Low volume consumption without fluidics makes BMI ideal for analyzing high concentration protein samples

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Learn how BMI can simplify and accelerate biologic formulation screening with rapid, low volume testing of hundreds of samples in a single day

  • Learn how incorporating subvisible aggregate analysis as early as late discovery and developability assessment can reveal stability issues that may be missed by other methods not designed specifically for detection in the subvisible range

  • Learn how low volume analysis without fluidics makes the Horizon an ideal tool for developing high concentration protein formulations

Speaker: Rick Gordon, VP, Sales, Halo Labs

Time and Date: Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after airing until May 12, 2021

Sponsor: Halo Labs

Register free: http://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/membrane