AAPS Announces 2017 Foundation Fellowship Winners

Published on: 

AAPS has announced the five graduate students awarded with a $10,000 fellowship for their research efforts in global health solutions.

On Sep. 7, 2017, the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) Foundation awarded five graduate students each with a $10,000 fellowship. According to AAPS, the students’ fields of discipline include liver fibrosis, breast cancer, and sepsis. The 2017 graduate student fellowship winners are:

Elizabeth Gibson

Vanderbilt University
Novel Naphthyridone/Aminopipiridine-Derived Type I Topoisomerase-Targeted Antibacterials

Akshay Jain

University of Missouri Kansas City
Development of Protein and Peptide Based Delivery System for Targeted Therapy of Liver Fibrosis

Dandan Luo

University of Buffalo
Doxorubicin Encapsulated in Porphyrin-Phospholipid (PoP) Liposomes for Chemophototherapy of Solid Tumors

John Schardt

University of Maryland
Engineered Multivalency for Improved HER3 Downregulation and Cancer Therapy 

Yangjie Wei


University of Kansas
Lumazine Synthase as a Nanoplatform for the Development of Ricin-Anthrax Combination Vaccine

Additionally, AAPS will continue to fund the following 2016 fellowships:

Mohd M. Khan

University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, Baltimore
Anti-Sepsis Therapeutics Design using Structure/Function Relationship 

Brandon Lucke-Wold

West Virginia University
The Pathologic Mechanisms Associated with Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy

The AAPS Foundation was formed in Nov. 2013 and provides graduate students and assistant faculty members with the resources needed to continue their research and education. AAPS Foundation K–12 programs also teach students about career opportunities available in the pharmaceutical sciences.

Source: AAPS