Unfolding the Power of mAB Purification via N-linked Glycans Using a FcR-IIIA Resin and Its Comparison to Protein A

Tosoh Bioscience

Webcast

*Wednesday, May 26, 2021 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST* Unfolding the power of mAb purification via N-linked glycans using a FcR-IIIA resin and how it compares to protein A resin. *On Demand Until May 26, 2022*

Register free: https://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/glycans

Event Overview:

Protein A affinity chromatography is widely used to capture monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) and other Fc-containing biotherapeutic drugs. Recently, a new affinity chromatography resin has been discovered for the purification of mAbs and other Fc-containing biologics, the FcγIIIa-receptor protein. In the body, it plays an essential role for the antibody-dependent cell-mediated cytotoxicity (ADCC) pathway.

The FcR-IIIA ligand's novelty in chromatographic processes is that the binding depends on the N-glycans attached to Asn-297 in the Fc-region. Moreover, the elution usually occurs as three distinct peaks with each peak containing different glycoforms and percentage composition compared to the starting material. This differs from a protein A eluate that consists of a single peak and without further separation of the glycoforms.

In this webcast, a direct monoclonal antibody purification comparison between protein A and FcR-IIIA affinity chromatography technologies is discussed. The comparison helps to determine the best practices for each resin. Process optimization (buffers, pH, etc.) protocols are also recommended for optimal purification. 

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand the differences and similarities between the FcR-IIIA and protein A resins for mAb purification.
  • Learn method development design tips for successfully using the FcR-IIIA and protein A resins for mAb purification.
  • Discover how N-linked glycan purification can lead to the correlation of a therapeutic’s ADCC activity.

Speakers:

Jukka Kervinen, Ph.D., Scientist, Applications Group Manager, Tosoh Bioscience LLC
Scott Melideo, Ph.D., Applications Scientist, Tosoh Bioscience LLC

Time and Date:

Wednesday May 26, 2021 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST

Register free: https://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/glycans