Therapeutic Proteins in Biological Fluids: Size Characterization Using AF4 with Fluorescence and SPR Detection

Wyatt

Webcast

***Live: Wednesday, February 24, 2021 at 11am EST| 8am PST| 4pm GMT| 5pm CET*** Do biologics aggregate in blood or serum? *On Demand until Feb. 24, 2022*

Register Free: https://www.biopharminternational.com/bp/fluorescence

Event Overview:

The analysis of aggregates of therapeutic proteins is crucial to ensure efficacy and patient safety. Typically, the analysis is performed in the finished formulation to ensure that aggregates are not present. An important question is, however, what happens to therapeutic proteins, with regard to oligomerization and aggregation, after they have been administrated intravenously.

This webinar features a demonstration of the separation of whole blood, plasma, and serum using asymmetric-flow field-flow fractionation (AF4) with a minimum of sample pre-treatment. The analysis of therapeutic antibodies in blood plasma using AF4 with fluorescence and surface plasmon resonance (SPR) detection is demonstrated in pre-clinical research with further potential for use in clinical trials, following implementation of appropriate quality systems. The results show the suitability and strength of AF4 for blood protein analysis and opens new important routes for the analysis and characterization of therapeutic proteins in blood.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • How AF4 separates biological fluids to obtain fractions enriched in therapeutic proteins and their aggregates
  • Recent advances in AF4 instrumentation
  • How protein size distributions in serum and plasma are studied using AF4-enriched fractions with fluorescence detection or SPR, close to native conditions and with minimal sample preparation.

Speaker:

Lars Nilsson, Professor of Formulation Technology at Lund University, Sweden, Co-Founder of SOLVE Research & Consultancy AB, Lund, Sweden

Dr. Christoph Johann, Manager for Eclipse Field-Flow Fractionation (FFF) Products, Wyatt Technology

Time and Date:

Wednesday, February 24, 2021 at 11am EST| 8am PST| 4pm GMT| 5pm CET

Sponsor: Wyatt

Register Free: https://www.biopharminternational.com/bp/fluorescence