Rational use of Dynamic Light Scattering for the Characterization of Cytokines, Bispecific Antibody Fusion Proteins, and Binary Antibody Mixtures

***Live: Tuesday, November 17, 2020 at 8am PST| 11am EST| 4pm GMT| 5pm CET***Shine a light on the (co-)formulation and stability one or more proteins.***On demand available after final airing until NOV. 17, 2021***

Register Free: https://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/light_scattering

Event Overview:

The rational biophysical characterization of therapeutic protein candidates and their formulations can greatly improve the early-stage development process of new biologics. As a part of this characterization, dynamic light scattering (DLS) is a valuable technique that can be applied to understand the aggregation behavior and colloidal stability of proteins in solution.

This webinar will present three case studies in which DLS was crucial to understanding the stability of therapeutically relevant proteins. The first study shows how DLS in multi-well plates can quickly indicate which solution conditions are expected to suppress the aggregation of a cytokine during long-term storage. The second part of the presentation will focus on the characterization of a bispecific antibody fusion protein in different formulations, and how DLS-based formulation ranking correlates with the ranking based on aggregates formed after long-term storage. The third case study examines binary mixtures of monoclonal antibodies with different biophysical properties and how DLS helps investigate whether the antibodies mutually impair their physical stability in solution.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Review DLS basics, instrumentation, protein characterization methods, and the therapeutic protein classes that can be characterized by DLS.
  • Learn how small changes in the solution conditions can affect protein storage stability and how DLS is used to study and even predict these effects.
  • Examine a DLS-based approach to characterizing binary mixtures of monoclonal antibodies.
  • Understand the benefits and implementation of DLS in early-stage development of therapeutic proteins.

Speakers: Hristo Svilenov, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Researcher, Technical University of Munich

Sophia Kenrick , Ph.D., Director of Analytical Services, Wyatt Technology Corporation

Time and Date: Tuesday, November 17, 2020 at 8am PST| 11am EST| 4pm GMT| 5pm CET

On demand available after final airing until Nov. 17, 2021

Register Free: https://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/light_scattering