Leveraging the Power of a Core-Shell LC Particle to Improve Micro and Nano Flow Separations

March 29, 2021
Phenomenex

Webcast

***Live: Monday, March 29, 2021 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST *** In order to achieve the required sensitivity when working with small samples sizes, such as in the case of proteomic or metabolomic analysis, a low flow rate LC column is required. Micro and nano LC provides a practical solution for labs and along with the added advantage of core-shell particles, the sensitivity needs are exceeded. ***On Demand until Mar. 29, 2022***

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/nano_flow

Event Overview:

The use of micro and nano flow separations is a powerful tool to increase sensitivity in LC-MS workflows. The increase in sensitivity is of great importance in application areas where one has a limited amount of sample, such as bottom up proteomics. However, it can also be leveraged to allow for the use of smaller sample sizes when sample collection is intrusive, such as biological samples, and the ability to have to harvest less sample is a major benefit. The sensitivity improvements seen in micro and nano scale separations is afforded by the increased ionization efficiency when less mobile phase is present in the analyte band. The sensitivity increase, however, can be further improved by having higher efficiency columns that generate narrower peaks. As the chromatographic peak width reduces, the height increases, leading to sensitivity improvements. Better analyte resolution also reduces the duty cycle of the MS, providing better spectral information.

In this webcast we will show how the use of core-shell based HPLC materials, long known to significantly improve efficiency in analytical HPLC, can be used in micro and nano scale LC-MS analysis to improve separation quality and provide better sensitivities.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Introduction to micro and nano flow to increase sensitivity
  • Implementing core-shell LC particles for additional performance, identification, and speed benefits

Speaker: Dr. Jason Anspach, Global Product Manager, HPLC, Phenomenex

Time and Date: Monday, March 29, 2021 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available until Mar. 29, 2022.

Sponsor: Phenomenex

Register Free: https://www.chromatographyonline.com/lcgc_w/nano_flow