Detection of Replication Competent Viruses in Viral Vector Product

Webcasts

Thursday July 22, 2021 at 11am EDT| 8am PDT| 4pm BST| 5pm CEST Learn how to detect replication competent virus in your gene therapy and what regulators are looking for when testing viral vectors.

Register Free: https://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/viruses

Event Overview:

With the development of viral vector products comes the challenge of ensuring viral safety without inactivating or removing product. One of the major risks associated with production of viral vectors is the generation of replication-competent viruses, such as adenovirus and lentivirus.

This webcast will discuss the following topics:

  • New guidance issued by the European Pharmacopeia and FDA concerning the testing of these vectors for replication competent viruses
  • Why robust detection assays are necessary to screen these products to ensure safety
  • Newly established platform assays for adenovirus, adeno-associated virus, retrovirus, and lentivirus-based vectors

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand how replication-competent virus are generated during the vector production process and why testing for these is important.
  • Understand the regulatory guidance concerning testing for replication-competent viruses.
  • Learn how assays for detection of replication-competent viruses work.

Who Should Attend:

  • Scientists, research staff, and managers responsible for the development of gene-therapy viral vector products

Speakers

Matthew Pennington, PhD
Scientist 2, Virology, Biologics Solutions
Charles River

Matthew Pennington completed his undergraduate work at Seton Hall University and received adoctoral degree from Cornell University in immunology and infectious disease, where he worked on the pathogenesis, treatment, and development of new assays to study herpesviruses. After completing post-doctoral work at Harvard Medical School studying adenovirus immunology, Matt joined Charles River as a scientist in the virology department of biologics testing solutions in September 2019. He has principally been focused on developing Charles River Labs’ cell and gene therapy testing capabilities, including designing assays to detect replication competent viruses in viral vector products. His peer-reviewed articles have been published in Journal of Virology, Microorganisms, Viruses, American Journal of Veterinary Research, and others.

Register Free: https://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/viruses