Packaging Material and Packaging System Quality for Pharmaceuticals and Biologics

Sep 20, 2017
By USP

Register Free: http://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/packaging

Plastic, glass, and elastomeric materials are used in a variety of ways within the pharmaceutical sector, from packaging systems and medical devices to tubing and single-use components used in the manufacturing process.

A key question faced by the pharmaceutical industry is, “What ultimate impact do these packaging materials have on the drug product?” Because the makeup of most packaging materials and manufacturing components is proprietary, end-users sometimes must rely on their own testing for extractables and leachables to determine suitability.

With robust compendial standards, knowledge of a material can be obtained that will provide the end-user with the ability to make more informed decisions about packaging materials during the drug development process, which ultimately saves time and effort.

Improvements in analytical techniques and industry best practices have made USP take a closer look at standards associated with plastic, glass, and elastomeric materials used to package pharmaceutical products and the biocompatibility testing of these materials.

This webcast will provide an overview of current revision efforts by USP to modernize its packaging material and packaging system standards.

 

Speakers:

Desmond G. Hunt, PhD, Principal Scientific Liaison, Compendial Science—General Chapters

Maura C. Kibbey, PhD, Director of Science & Standards, USP's Global Biologics

 

Date and Time:

Live: Wednesday, 20 Sept., 2017 | 11 am EDT | 8 am PDT | 1600 BST | 1700 CEST

After the final airing of the webcast 20 Sept., 2017 it will be available on demand until 20 Sept., 2018. 

Sponsor: USP

Register Free: http://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/packaging

native1_300x100
lorem ipsum