Complete Structural Insight into Therapeutic Proteins: Using Mass Spectrometry Under Native & Denaturing Conditions

Part I: Simplified Mass Spectral Characterization of Complex Biotherapeutic Drugs Under Native and Denaturing Conditions
Jun 28, 2017

Register Free: http://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/Complete

Biopharmaceutical characterization is required throughout all stages of the drug pipeline, from discovery, through development, production, and quality control. Liquid chromatography (LC) with high-resolution accurate-mass mass spectrometry (MS) approaches are used to structurally characterize therapeutic proteins—such as monoclonal antibodies (mAbs)—to assess purity and heterogeneity characteristics including quantification of the various glycoforms and protein variants. New, rapid, and simplified methods coupling ultra high performance chromatography (UHPLC) with Orbitrap-based mass spectrometers give fast, confident insight into the proteoform profile for direct comparison of biotherapeutic products.

This two-part webcast series, featuring experts from Genentech and Thermo Fisher Scientific, will begin with characterization of intact proteins using denaturing and native conditions in LC-MS analysis with Orbitrap mass spectrometers. Specific applications to be discussed include common challenges such as identifying low abundance isoforms in simple antibodies, resolving heterogeneity in antibody drug conjugates (ADCs) without sample treatment, assessing purity of bispecific antibodies, and measuring protein-ligand affinities.

The second webcast will feature sample preparation considerations for LC-MS analysis of antibodies on the intact and subunit level, both performed under denaturing conditions. Experts will show the workflow for intact mass analysis and discuss chromatographic options for fast desalting to enable high-throughput analysis. Other topics include the entire workflow for subunit analysis consisting of optimized sample preparation and details to keep an eye on; high-resolution chromatographic separation; mass analysis on a quadrupole-Orbitrap mass spectrometer; and data analysis.

 

Speakers:

Wendy Sandoval (Part I), Senior Scientific Manager in Research, Genentech Inc., USA

Aaron O. Bailey (Part I), Mass Spectrometry Specialist, Thermo Fisher Scientific, USA

 

Date and Time:  Wednesday, 28 June 2017 | 11:00 am EDT | 8:00 am PDT | 1600 BST | 1700 CEST

After the final airing of the webcast 28 June 2017 it will be available on demand until 28 June 2018. 

Register Free: http://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/Complete

native1_300x100
lorem ipsum