Characterizing Protein-Nucleic Acid Interactions by Light Scattering

Aug 21, 2018

Register Free: http://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/scattering

Harnessing the interactions between DNA, RNA, and proteins holds much promise for detecting biomarkers, diagnosing disease, and improving cancer-targeting therapeutics.  Quantifying these interactions is essential for understanding and controlling their biomolecular mechanisms.  Multi-angle light scattering (MALS) is a powerful tool for directly measuring molar masses of proteins, nucleic acids, and complexes in solution without fluorescent or radio labeling.

In this webcast, an expert will present two complementary light-scattering techniques for determining the stoichiometry and affinity of interactions between proteins and nucleic acids:

  • Size-exclusion chromatography coupled with MALS, ultraviolet, and differential refractive index detection (SEC–MALS) analyzes each of the species present in a solution of macromolecules
  • Composition-gradient MALS (CG–MALS) quantifies the binding affinity and stoichiometry of biomolecular complexes, including multi-step reactions, label-free, and immobilization-free

Application examples will focus on protein-DNA and protein-RNA complexes.

 

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand how light scattering measures the molar mass of biomacromolecules in solution
  • Discover how SEC-MALS with Wyatt’s Protein Conjugate Analysis algorithm provides robust quantification of complex macromolecules, including protein-nucleic acid complexes
  • Learn how CG–MALS characterizes protein-nucleic acid complex formation, quantifies absolute stoichiometry of the complexes and determines affinity Kd at each binding site

 

Who Should Attend:

  • Scientists performing research into protein-DNA, protein-RNA, and other biomolecular interactions
  • Structural biologists studying macromolecular complexes with crystallography, electron microscopy, NMR, and other techniques
  • Laboratory managers/directors responsible for biophysical characterization of next-generation therapeutics or theranostics

 

Speakers:

Sophia Kenrick, Senior Application Scientist, Wyatt Technology Corporation

 

Date and Time:

Live: Tuesday, 21 August, 2018 at 11 am EDT | 8 am PDT | 1600 BST | 1700 CEST

After the final airing of the webcast on 21 August, 2018 it will be available on demand until 21 August, 2019. 

Sponsor: Wyatt Technology Corporation

Register Free: http://www.biopharminternational.com/bp_w/scattering

native1_300x100
lorem ipsum